Speaker Measurement

I measured my speakers with HOLMImpulse.  Don’t worry to much about the absolute amplitude of the tweeter and woofer, I moved the microphone around a little to get the cleanest data on each of the two drivers.  The magic of active crossovers shown for all to see.

The impulse response ‘reflects’ the fact that the left speaker was tested much closer to a side wall than the right.

The measurements showed a marked dip at the crossover frequency when I had the woofers and tweeters wired ‘in phase’.  I am not sure why.  They are 4th order crossovers and should not behave like this.  Both left and right speakers were the same.  I will get to the bottom of this some other time. It could be a wiring error (a symmetrical one…) a combination of the tweeter protection cap and the physical position of a tweeter (further forward) or something else. For now it sounds great.

Leave a comment