Bookshelf speaker progress

The bookshelf speakers I showed some work on a while ago (including hole cutting) are on the move again.  Lots of firsts for me including a ground up 12dB per octave crossover network engineering job.  I did it starting with text book values and did it from there with measurement (no impedance compensation used).  Quite a hassle and I now have better means for doing it with speakers I have proper data for.  More to come.

Anyway, here is the high pass filter (for the tweeter).

IMG_3534

I drilled a hole in the base under the inductor and the hot glue flowed down into it.  Hope it will be durable.  the resistors are tacked down with superglue in case they get at all hot.  However, I expect them to dissipate very very little power (compared to their ratings).  Burned my thumb with the hot glue too 😐

Here is the prototyping.

IMG_3465

Leave a comment